Preston Scott Cohen

Taiyuan Museum of Art

Benjamin Wilke and Preston Scott Cohen


Preston Scott Cohen: Taiyuan Museum of Art explores how ideas come to be, evolve, are refined and changed, and are made concrete. Through 
a series of interviews, essays, and exhaustive documentation, Taiyuan Museum of Art is intimately related to a design process and strategy that has unfolded over the course of Cohen’s career while indicating shifts in his interests. Critical essays and interviews map out a larger theoretical and intellectual argument for this body of work. Early projects and precedent studies are discussed, focusing on the role of different techniques of representation, development, historical evaluation, and technical execution in the development of both these earlier projects as well as the larger subject of the book. Even further, the book better describes the ideas that generated the project, as described through interviews with the graduate students of the Knowlton School of Architecture, interviews with contemporary critics, and critical commentaries by architects, designers, and colleagues of Cohen. The design process is described in detail through drawings, diagrams and study models. The ambition of the Source Books series is to offer an alternative to the conventional architectural monograph by documenting the design process in depth, and by providing extensive critical commentary that allows for careful study of the project from conception through execution.


9" x 8" (portrait)
Publication date: 
Spring 2017
Rights world: 

Stan Allen, Kristy Balliet, Douglas Graf, Jeffrey Kipnis, and Robert Livesey.

About the author: 

Benjamin Wilke is the editor of the Source Books 
in Architecture series and senior instructor at the Knowlton School of Architecture, where he teaches design studios and seminars at the undergraduate and graduate level.

Preston Scott Cohen is the Gerald M. McCue Professor in Architecture at Harvard University’s Graduate School of Design, where he served as Chair of the Department of Architecture from 2008 to 2014.